Justin Timberlake with Pink

timberlakemainnotuneingy71Bands: Justin Timberlake with Pink

Venue: HP Pavilion, San Jose, CA

Date: January 2007

I have taken a lot of shit for admitting that I enjoy listening to the music of Justin Timberlake. The figurative flying feces has been flung by my hard rock friends, my heavy metal friends, my alt-country friends, my jazz friends, my classic rock friends, and my hip-hop friends. Even my sports talk radio friends have piled on. And it’s not even as if I can defend myself and my perceived musical integrity by claiming my love of JT’s music as a guilty pleasure. Oh no. I enjoy his Futuresexlovesounds cd so much that if I were to rewrite my top 10 favorite album of all time list, it would easily crack the top seven, at least.

114694510482239e02e8hr2So, it was a complete no-brainer that I would be attending Timberlake’s show when it came around. In fact, I even pre-ordered my front row seat tickets from his website weeks before they were available to the general public. Umm, well, actually, that’s not entirely true. The truth is that my wife Fehmeen has been a major JT fan since his days in N Sync and when she purchased his new cd and played it over and over and over in our car for months on end, I learned to like, I mean love, most of the songs on it. In fact, I dug them so much that I thought it would be cool to see them performed live. Plus, Fehmeen wanted to go, so we bought tickets and went.

justin-timberlake-timbaland-335a032707I remember it being chilly that evening in January because I vividly recall the serpentine line slithering around the entire outside of the HP Pavilion before they opened the doors. Once inside, we found our way to our assigned seats in the upper nosebleed region and prepared ourselves for the show to start by engaging ourselves in a serious game of people watching. We determined quite quickly that I was easily the oldest, non-parent in attendance. Before I could even begin to process that tidbit of information, the lights went down and the show began.

Opening act Pink was blaringly loud and generally unremarkable, save for the circe de soleil-esque acrobatic rope from the rafters trick. JT performed the way one would expect: lots of singing, solo and synchronized dancing, and even some piano playing. Every thing was rolling just fine until about the fifty minute mark when artist/producer Timbaland came out and played records for almost half an hour. It totally killed the show which unfortunately, never regained it’s momentum.

Leave a Reply

