Willie Nelson

willie-flores1969-lrgBand: Willie Nelson

Venue: unknown

Date: late 1968 to early 1969

I have always had an inexplicable affinity for the music of Willie Nelson. Sure, my dad used to play his records for me all the time when I was growing up, but my love for Willie’s songs seemed to run deeper than merely in my ears and into my brain. It almost felt like I connected to the music on a near cellular level. And although it wasn’t a necessarily pressing question as to why that was, it always bugged me a little.

Well, several years ago, I got my answer.

Apparently, at some time several months before my birth, my mom attended a Willie Nelson concert with my dad while she was pregnant with me.  No wonder I’ve always felt the amber current of a whiskey river flowing through my mind. It’s because Willie Nelson was my first ever concert.

Earliest photo of me, circa 1969

Earliest photo of me, circa 1969

2 Responses to “Willie Nelson”

  1. F*@&ing hilarious!! I’m stealing that!

  2. Be my guest, Traci. I stole it, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

